QR Bench

Oh My Code vs QR Code Generator by Bitly (2026): pay once, or subscribe by the year

Published · Page updated · By QRBench Editorial

The verdict

Choose Oh My Code for monthly billing or one-time dynamic plans. Choose QRCG by Bitly for published API tiers, larger code quotas and its documentation library. Both offer dynamic codes with analytics; Oh My Code also has a free static export we tested.

QRCG’s trial dynamic codes deactivate after 14 days. A partial Oh My Code account check on September 21 covered destination edits, routing and scan counts; advanced features remain provisional. Every dynamic code still depends on its provider.

General checks: August 10, 2026 · 2 tools Selected topic checks: September 14–September 21, 2026 · 2 tools. Dates and scope by tool

A page update can change the text or presentation without rechecking every fact. General checks, prices and selected topics have separate dates. How to read these dates.

Side by side

Oh My Code vs QRCG by Bitly, verified data
Tool Score Entry paid plan Free option Dynamic QR Analytics API Exports
Oh My Code Visit site 8.2 Targeted test + docs 4/7 provisional The Friendly $4.99/mo · monthly $2.08/mo · billed yearly Free static Free-offer conditions Advanced png, svg, eps Static PNG decoded August 7. Trial-account PNG, SVG and EPS exports confirmed by the account owner September 21; PNG phone scan also confirmed. Free EPS availability not established.
QRCG by Bitly Visit site 6.8 Public docs 4/7 provisional Starter ≈ $18.34/mo · monthly ≈ $9.17/mo · billed yearly No free tier Advanced png, svg

Both prices refer to the named entry plan. Monthly billing and annualized rates are separate; higher tiers may offer monthly billing. See the pricing index and plan caveats.

Prices displayed in US dollars. ≈: indicative conversion at the ECB rate of September 18, 2026. Conversion details.

Search for a QR generator and qr-code-generator.com is the property you find first; Bitly bought its publisher, Egoditor, in December 2021 and rebranded it QRCG by Bitly in April 2026. Oh My Code is a French design-first generator that most people have not heard of. They meet on this page because they answer the same brief, a dynamic code with analytics for a small business, at opposite ends of the market’s pricing habits: one sells by the year, the other sells by the month or once.

The comparison below uses the verified data behind both reviews. Where a score rests on a vendor’s pages rather than on an account session, we say so, because it is true of both.

What each one is

Oh My Code leads with design: separate colors for dots, background and corners, logo embedding, frames, and five global shapes, which is unusual in a market that restyles the modules and stops. Its public selector has 15 choices, reread September 14, 2026; several are URL presets. Static codes are free without an account, and we tested that path on August 7: a 3020px PNG plus SVG, no watermark, decoded to our URL with no redirect. Dynamic codes point at an Oh My Code redirect, count scans, and need a paid plan after a 14-day trial. GDPR, CCPA and SOC 2 Type II badges sit in the footer, and tracking runs through a consent page shown to the person scanning.

QR Code Generator by Bitly is a mainstream dynamic platform with scan analytics from the first tier, bulk creation and API access from the mid tier, frames, logo embedding and templates, and one of the deepest guide libraries in the category. The generator sits behind signup, so we scored it from its published pages. The QR type count is not stated on the pages we read, and where scan data lives after the acquisition is not stated either.

Pricing, side by side

Oh My Code’s entry plan, The Friendly, is $4.99 a month with no commitment, or $25 a year, for 2 dynamic codes, 500 scans a month and advanced analytics. The Boss, at $14.99 a month or $75 a year, lifts codes, scans and users to unlimited and adds bulk generation and scan-tracking pixels. Both exist as one-time plans, $59 and $169, re-read on the rendered pricing page August 10, 2026. The API lives in a quoted enterprise tier.

QRCG by Bitly’s entry plan, Starter, is €8 a month billed annually, which means €96 charged up front, for 2 dynamic codes, 10,000 scans and one user. The same plan costs €16 a month on monthly billing, double, and the page says so once you flip the toggle. Advanced, €15 a month billed annually only, carries 50 codes, unlimited scans, bulk creation and 3,000 API requests. Professional, €40 billed annually only, lifts that to 250 codes. VAT is not included in any displayed price. Read August 11, 2026.

Two readings of the same numbers. Per month with no commitment, Oh My Code costs $4.99 where QRCG costs €16. Per year at the entry tier, $25 against €96. The scan quotas use different descriptions: Oh My Code lists 500 scans per month, while QRCG publishes 10,000 scans without a period established in our record. Those counts are not a like-for-like monthly comparison. Oh My Code’s Boss plan removes the scan cap; QRCG’s Starter still limits the account to two codes. Above that, QRCG’s grid is the deeper one: 50 codes with unlimited scans and API access for €180 a year is, as our review puts it, the grid’s best value, and Oh My Code’s answer to it is an unlimited plan without a published API price.

The one-time plans have no equivalent at QRCG or, for full plans, anywhere else in our index. $59 or $169 paid once turns the recurring bill behind a printed code into a single line. It does not remove the dependency: a dynamic code still resolves through Oh My Code’s servers, so the bet moves from your subscription to the vendor’s longevity, and a young company carries more of that risk than the market’s largest QR property.

The free question

Oh My Code’s free is a static code, and it is free the way QR Code Monkey’s is: no account, no watermark, no expiry, verified by downloading and decoding a file. The account push is a passive banner. Flip the Track scans toggle and you are routed to signup, because tracking means a dynamic code and a dynamic code means a plan. That is the exact edge of the free product, and the interface says so.

QRCG’s homepage headline reads create your QR code for free. Its pricing page, read the same day, lists Starter, Advanced and Professional and no free plan; the only unpaid path is the 14-day trial behind signup. Bitly’s own blog completes the picture: most users create codes during a free trial, and those codes deactivate automatically when the trial period finishes, while static codes keep working. None of this is hidden once you reach the pricing page. The distance between the front door and the checkout is what our trust score measures, and it is where the two tools separate most: 8.5 against 5.5.

Features and analytics, where they score alike

Both score 7.5 on dynamic features and 8.0 on analytics, and both scores carry a caveat. A partial Oh My Code account check on September 21, 2026 covered destination editing, a public vCard, device routing and one-scan expiry. Two controlled browser visits appeared as two scans and one unique visitor. This was not a full account reassessment: advanced-feature coverage, analytics depth and trial-end behaviour remain unverified. At QRCG, the generator is behind signup and the analytics score rests on what the tiers list, not on a dashboard session. We have not tested QRCG in an account.

On what the pages state: Oh My Code puts advanced analytics on its cheapest plan and pixels for Meta, GA4 and Google Ads on The Boss. QRCG puts scan analytics on Starter, bulk creation and 3,000 API requests on Advanced, and 10,000 API requests on Professional. Oh My Code’s API is enterprise-only and unpriced; QRCG’s has a published tier. QRCG did not publish a type count on the pages covered by our review. Our file test at Oh My Code covered PNG and SVG; QRCG documents those formats too.

Correction, September 14, 2026. The old count of 12 Oh My Code types and the claim that GS1 was absent have been corrected. Its official article documents GS1 Digital Link on Boss/Apollo with a trial. That account feature is separate from the public selector, and we have not tested its output. The review records the sources and scope; neither vendor’s pricing or dashboard was rechecked for this update.

The record

Oh My Code is recent and small. We found no user reports about it in the Reddit, Product Hunt or Trustpilot material collected for this index, so its review rests on our own tests and its published pages. QRCG is the most-found tool in the market, with years of documentation behind it, and the trust dock it carries is about its own front door, not about whether the platform works. If a track record you can read for yourself is part of the decision, QRCG has one and Oh My Code does not yet.

The verdict

For a small business printing a code it wants to edit later, with a bill it can predict and end, Oh My Code is the stronger pick on the verified data: $4.99 a month without a contract, $25 a year, or $59 once, with advanced analytics from the first plan and a free static export that we decoded clean. The reservations are the young company and the untested dynamic half.

For a team that scans in volume from day one, needs 50 or 250 codes, wants an API with a price on it, or already runs Bitly for links, QRCG by Bitly is the deeper grid, bought with eyes open: prepay the year, do not print a trial code, and read the cancellation terms before the first invoice.

Where each sits against the rest of the market is on our best dynamic QR code generators page, and the pricing index puts both entry prices next to every other tool we track, with the date we read each one.

Full reviews

Frequently asked questions

Is Oh My Code better than QR Code Generator by Bitly?

On our weighted grid, yes: 8.2 against 6.8. The two tools score the same on dynamic features (7.5), analytics (8.0) and support (7.0). Oh My Code pulls ahead on pricing (8.5 to 6.0), because its entry plan is cheaper on every billing period and it sells one-time plans, and on trust (8.5 to 5.5), because its free static code is free with no account while QRCG's homepage sells a free code that turns out to be a 14-day trial. QRCG wins on the scans included at entry, on quotas above 50 codes, and on documentation. Read both reviews before deciding; parts of each score are provisional.

How do Oh My Code and QRCG by Bitly pricing compare?

Read on the vendors' pricing pages, Oh My Code re-read August 10, 2026 and QRCG on August 11. Oh My Code: The Friendly at $4.99 a month or $25 a year for 2 dynamic codes and 500 scans a month with advanced analytics; The Boss at $14.99 a month or $75 a year for unlimited codes, scans and users; one-time plans at $59 and $169; the API tier is quoted. QRCG by Bitly: Starter at €8 a month billed annually, €96 up front, for 2 dynamic codes and 10,000 scans, or €16 a month on monthly billing; Advanced at €15 billed annually only for 50 codes and unlimited scans; Professional at €40 billed annually only for 250 codes. VAT excluded.

Which one is free?

Oh My Code's static codes are free with no account: we generated one, downloaded a 3020px PNG plus an SVG and decoded it on August 7, 2026, with no watermark and our URL in the pattern. Its dynamic codes are not free; they run on a 14-day trial, then a plan. QR Code Generator by Bitly has no free tier at all. Its homepage says create your QR code for free, its pricing page lists three paid tiers and a 14-day trial, and Bitly's own blog states that codes created during the trial deactivate automatically when it finishes.

What happens to dynamic codes when I stop paying?

At both, a dynamic code is a redirect on the vendor's servers, and it needs an active plan to resolve. QRCG's trial codes deactivate at the end of the 14 days; on a paid plan, its FAQ requires cancellation notice 30 days before the end of the billing cycle and allows downgrades only after the first contract period. Oh My Code's dynamic codes need a plan after the 14-day trial; its one-time plans remove the renewal date, and the dependency on Oh My Code's redirect remains. Static codes keep working at both, because nothing sits between the pattern and your URL.